What is your dream Rig?

Posted: August 15, 2018 in Uncategorized

MB1_thumb

If you could formulate the specs and design your dream rig, what would it be?

I like the appearance and ergonomics of the Expert MB1. The size and the feel is just right for me. Not too big or too small. In contrast, my long sold Icom IC-7800 was too big and heavy. My Elecraft K3 is just the right size and it’s light weight makes it travel very well. I think the Icom IC-7610 would travel and perform well but I have yet to try one.

As much as I like the looks and ergonomics of the Expert MB1, I would be hesitant to buy a radio manufactured in Russia for various reasons.

I would call my dream rig the K4 and I hope it would be manufactured by Elecraft which is local to me here in Northern California. Elecraft has long been producing and supporting world-class radios and accessories with phenomenal support. As a K3 owner, they have spoiled me with their high standards and performance.

I would also like the ability to use external software such as Flex Radio’s Smart SDR. While Smart SDR is proprietary to Flex Radios, there is plenty of room for competing technology in that realm. The Spectrum display or “fish finder” in Flex Radio’s Smart SDR 2.0 and above is just spectacular.

Any radio that meets or exceeds the performance of the Elecraft K3S would certainly be a big hit and would meet the needs of many of us.

What would be your dream radio?

Comments
  1. Amer says:

    I always wish to have the KENWOOD TS 990

  2. f6ira says:

    Interesting talk about radios: classic or software compliant but ever remember the talk from my mentors F6AMB (sk) and F6HWU (sk) they learn to me: that station efficiency never come from numbers radio’s on ( or under ) the desk but mainly depend from amoung aluminium be on field….

  3. Peter says:

    What I really want is a SDR HF radio that also has a VHF/UHF Radio for FM use – complete with a nice prettty waterfall. To date I do not see a good SDR for VHF/UHF and for the life of me I dont know why that is

  4. Stephen Hawkins says:

    My current radio the Flexradio 6400M.

  5. Thuy says:

    Radio manufacturers need to work with designers of digital protocols
    to start understanding what can be achieved and what end users may
    want.

    For example: the instant that I take the radio out of the box and plug
    it in, it will start decoding all FT8 signals within a 30 kHz segment
    of 20 meters. The front panel of the radio will start slowly scrolling
    decodes of the most distant stations (the radio will automatically
    know my grid square). With minimal configuration, I’ll be able to
    complete and log FT8 QSOs using only the radio. If my local Wi-Fi
    network has a computer or mobile device running any common ham radio
    application, a single button press will automatically detect it and
    set it up. If I choose to use CW or SSB instead, the radio will
    perform as well or better than anything on the market.

    Why 30 kHz? Because we’re no longer going to run FT8 with filters
    designed for SSB. We’re going to decide that 30 kHz (or more) per band
    is a reasonable allocation given FT8’s popularity, and make the
    hardware and the protocol support that as well as possible.

    Why scrolling decodes? The end user wants to verify that the radio and
    antenna are working. This is 2018. It no longer makes sense to spin
    the dial and manually decide what the signals might be.

    Why directly support FT8 QSOs? Too many end users will otherwise
    interface to an underpowered PC and wonder why the radio isn’t working
    well. The radio will have ASICs optimized for FT8 decoding, not an x64
    CPU from like 2010.

  6. Steve Jones says:

    Paul-

    The K4 (K5?) for sure!
    73,
    Steve
    N6SJ

  7. BaoFeng Blogger says:

    My Dream Rig…?

    One I can afford.

    The average NEW ham can’t afford several hundred dollars for a new rig, let alone one that’s priced at thousands of dollars. Add in the antenna and all the extras and we now run well past a thousand just to start out.

    Let’s face it… being in Amateur Radio is a (somewhat) expensive persons hobby.

Leave a comment