If you could…

Posted: June 6, 2017 in Uncategorized

If you could sit down and have a conversation with any ham past or present, who would it be?

I’ve had the honor of meeting and becoming friends with many of my heroes including Martti-OH2BH, Zorro-JH1AJT, Don Miller-W9WNV, David-K3LP, Hrane-YT1AD and others.

If I could sit down and have a conversation with Chuck Brady-N4BQW (SK) I would really enjoy that. Chuck Brady was an extremely accomplished individual. A Medical Doctor, a Captain in the US Navy, a NASA Astronaut, a devoted amateur radio operator having operated from Wake Island, Kingman Reef, Bouvet and other places.

Brady

Chuck Brady-N4BQW on Bouvet Island.

While I never met Chuck Brady, I think I would have liked him. He was a man of action. He did things that others just dream of doing. He appears to have been a driven and accomplished individual. I would like to have asked him about his small boat voyage to Kingman Reef from Palmyra. I would like to have listened to him tell me about his time on Bouvet. It’s very tragic how and why his life ended and his state of mind at the time.

Who knows what Chuck Brady could have achieved if he were still with us.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. k8bkm says:

    For me, it would be James Brooks, 9V1YC. He’s been many places and produced some of the best DX-pedition videos ever made. He sets the bar very high. He’s a good operator, too.

    • N6PSE's Blog says:

      James Brooks 9V1YC is very personable. He gave a really thorough interview on my Blog several years ago. He was very cooperative and informative. I really enjoyed the exchange of ideas with James.

      73,
      Paul N6PSE

  2. Scott. W2NTV says:

    XE1L sk. Which was his most exciting moment during a dxpedition he did I had the opertunity to meet him once, at Dayton …. Very cool Just never got around to asking.

    • N6PSE's Blog says:

      Scott, I never had the pleasure of meeting or knowing Luis-XE1L. Its a shame that he passed away right after the Clipperton DXpedition.

    • yes…. very sad…. looked in my log the other day… hard to believe I had so so many qso’s with him… just never took note before…. I will not make that mistake again… qsos are the fingerprints to our past I guess… love this hobby …tu

  3. Alan Larson says:

    Not even close. I would want to talk with the long SK fellow who got me interested in ham radio back when I was young. There is much I would want to tell him of all the good things that happened to me as a result of my becoming a ham radio operator.

  4. Al says:

    Gus Browning would have tales to tell and to give a different perspective on DXing and expeditions. He was a real pioneer.

  5. Dennis Jacobson says:

    I agree with the meeting of Gus (the coke man) Browning. Would have given anything to have made some os with him. He certainly gave me more of my new countries than anyone else. And what’s more he did it with mostly his own money.

Leave a Reply

