Don’t you hate it when…

Posted: May 30, 2017 in Uncategorized

Cockpit error

Don’t you hate it when you have an embarrasing “cockpit error” situation in your shack?

I just had one. This weekend, I had a professional tower climber replace the mast clamps on my M2 Orion 2800 rotor. It was a tough job and we were both really tired. After the work was completed, I discovered that I had a terrible SWR issue. My thoughts immediately raced ahead to having lost a EHU motor on my SteppIR DB 36 antenna or having shredded the control cable at the junction box. I envisioned weeks of down time and additional expenses.

Then I discovered the coax switch in my shack was in the wrong position and my trusty K3 had no antenna connected to it. As Homer Simpson would say: Doh!

I seem to make this mistake a few times a year. Does this happen to you?

What do you think?

Comments
  1. ac8yu says:

    I have those experiences at least one a week. It usually revolves around running 100w while on JT modes. Maybe that’s why I don’t get responses sometimes, my signal splattering all over the place.

    Or I forget to put my TH-D72A in duplex mode when working SO-50 or AO-85, and I cannot hear myself on the download link.

    I’m going to blame the years are creeping up on me. 🙂

  2. Paul–It’s called a “short between the headphones” hi hi
    Dale K8TS

  3. 13n59w says:

    Commonly known a ‘senior moment ‘.

  4. Mike W2LO says:

    Unfortunately, it happens here more than a few times a year….
    Mike W2LO

  5. Roger says:

    I can relate. We had straight line winds here in Oklahoma City a few weeks ago at about 90MPH. The boom on my antenna twisted on the mast by about 45 degrees. It took me over a week — and probably 20 times up and down the tower – to: [a] setup gin pole, [b] take out old clamp whose teeth had “stripped”, [c] put in new clamp, [d] take down gin pole, [e] etc, [f] etc. During all of this I had to climb down tower and then back up scads of times because I dropped this or that tool when up at the top of the tower. After finally getting all of this done my lower body was actually sore from the workout. I’m getting too old to climb towers any more. Supposedly a log periodic is “low maintenance” because it has no traps and no motors like a SteppIR. But in the ten years I’ve had this antenna up I have had to work on it at least a half dozen times.

    73 Roger K5RKS Oklahoma City

    • N6PSE's Blog says:

      Yes, a log periodic should be trouble free. I am a big fan of steppir antennas but I wished I owned a boom truck and a tilt over tower, neither of which I have.

      73 Roger,

      Paul N6PSE

Leave a Reply

