Keeping balance in our lives…

Posted: August 24, 2016 in Uncategorized

Balance

Keeping balance in our lives….

This Blog topic is a little different than most of my Blogs about amateur radio, a hobby that I have enjoyed for over 30 years.

I am often approached by avid DXers and Contesters when I attend amateur radio conventions and gatherings. I always welcome and enjoy the friendly banter and discussions with the many amateurs throughout the world.

Often times, amateurs like to tell me their DXCC standings, or that they have reached 3,000 in the DXCC Challenge or are in the upper strata of the CQ Marathon. These are all impressive feats and worthy accomplishments for those who enjoy this great hobby.

My life was recently touched by significant family upheaval. My family situation was out of balance and now we are living with significant pain and uncertainty. I thought our lives were balanced but perhaps they were not.

I would just ask those of you who spend considerable time in your shack and away from your family to take time to cherish what you have and enjoy those around you. I’m realizing that maintaining balance in life is more important than that next DXpedition, or the next point or new DXCC entity.

I’ve sincerely enjoyed doing my Blog these past few years. I am going to take a hiatus of unknown duration so that I can find balance and take care of those who love me and need me the most.

I hope to return but if I don’t I am sure you will understand.

Sincerely,

Paul N6PSE

Comments
  1. N0UN, Wayne says:

    Let me know if there’s anything I can do.

  2. dl3tu says:

    It was always a pleasure to read your blog, Paul. All the best!

  3. Warren says:

    Paul,
    I will miss your blog. Thoughtful, informed commentary is a rare commodity these days.
    That being said, I wish you success in your effort to ‘achieve a balance’ and look forward to resumption of your blog should you decide to do so.
    GL es 73,
    Warren NW4C

  4. great post we become immersed in this world and sometimes forget to come up and smell the roses i had similar and stepped away for a while. it was still there waiting and will be for you should you decide to return i enjoyed your blog posts
    thanks
    Steve
    de vk3meg.

  5. Kevin, K6TD says:

    Family comes first!

  6. Roger says:

    Paul:

    I appreciate your work as a key organizer of DXpeditions to various rare locations. I owe you a big debt as a DXer since several DXpeditions staged by the Intrepid DX group helped me to claw my way to the bottom of the Honor Roll.

    I know first hand about “balance”. My XYL was diagnosed with MS about 20 years ago. One of our three children was born with significant mental retardation. Obviously, family situations, such as these, have a major bearing on the trajectory of our lives.

    I admit that there is a delicate balance between ham radio and DXing compared with everything else that is on my plate. Keeping everything “in balance” is something I have to continue to work on.

    73 Roger K5RKS

  7. Andy Goss says:

    Paul, N6PSE, you’ll know we’re not acquainted, but as a fellow HAM and fellow human I wish you and yours the best outcome. 73 de Andy, N4LAG.

Leave a Reply

