Is Alpha Radio Products/RKR toast?

Posted: June 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

alpha9500

The Alpha 9500 is the flagship product of Alpha.

If you have been following all of the changes in the HF Linear Amplifier world, then you know that Alpha Amplifiers has changed hands several times over the years and that key people in development/design, Engineering, Support of these products, namely Molly (W0MOM) and Gordon Hardman (W0RUN) and now Brad Focken (K0HM) have all left the company.

These departures and the changes upon changes has created a lot of undue stress and uncertainty about the future of this company and their products. I have always felt that Alpha amplifiers were superior products however my own experiences owning two Alpha 9500’s left a lot to be desired. I have now sold all of my tube amps and I am enjoying the instant on features of an Expert 1.3 K-FA solid state amplifier.

It will be interesting to see if Alpha Amplifiers can survive all of these changes. Upon learning of Brad-K0HM’s departure, I am certainly glad that I no longer own an Alpha amplifier.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. Roger says:

    I have never owned any Alpha linear amplifiers. I did have a Henry 3KD classic from 1980 up to 2005. That Henry amp used a single 3CX1200D7. I replaced that old Henry with an ICOM PW-1 solid state linear.

    I believe that Alpha is going to have to come out with a solid state linear — which contains an integral antenna switch and tuner — if it is going to be able to keep up with the competition. My guess is that tube linear amplifiers are now less than 10% of the ham radio linear market.

    As a side note I think Alpha and TenTec have combined operations.

    73 Roger K5RKS

  2. Gary W8VI says:

    With the heart and now brains of Alpha gone – what is remaining?

    I still have my Alpha 99 and it keep going every day withe the original finals. Other than the blower noise, heat and 3 minute warm up its an excellent reliable amp.

    With Palstar getting ready to introduce their new Amp and others getting ready to enter the market with the newer solid state devices it will be interesting to see if we ever see a new amp from the company that purchased the Alpha name.

    73, Gary W8VI

Leave a Reply

