Fun on 10 meters….

Posted: October 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

CQWWDXContest

I really had a lot of fun during this weekend’s CQ WW SSB DX Contest. I focused my operating on ten meters, not in a competitive fashion but to maximize my ten meter contacts before the sunspot minimum occurs and ten meters becomes unusable. Many propagation experts thought that would have happened by now, however this weekend ten meters was in very good shape and quite enjoyable.

Here is a snapshot of just some of the stations I was able to work on ten meters SSB during the contest:

5H3EE

V84O

B7P

C37N

TA2AD

A93JA

HZ1HZ

A61DA

A71CV

A93JA

ZS1TMJ

HB9H

SV9GPV

EF8R

FR4QT

EA8/N6GQ

4O3A

ZS9Z

CN3A

ZD7FT

EA8TX

Wow, what a lot of fun this was. And in the days right before the contest, I was able to work E30FB and SO1WS on ten meters. What a great way to end this sunspot cycle with a fantastic opening on ten meters.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. Bill Salyers says:

    Paul,

    Great observations and Great Fun. Unfortunately, I ASSUMED that the bands would be weak and made a few weekend commitments that took away operating time. My mistake. 10 really WAS a lot of fun. Hoping that we get a repeat rotation for CQWW CW at end of November.

    Bands were still in good shape this morning – Worked JA from my car in Ohio

  2. Mike KJ4Z says:

    I’m not a fan of SSB (especially in contests) but I hopped in and out and had some fun. I too hope the cycle is as good for the CW contest. I’ll be really wanting to participate in that one.

Leave a Reply

