The Solstice Solar Storm of 2015….

Posted: June 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

Sun

My station has been off the air with an antenna issue since late April. I have been too busy with planning and organizing VP8STI/VP8SGI to deal with it and resolve the issue until now.

I know I missed some really good DX; however one has to have priorities!  Now that I am back on the air, solar conditions are awful, no, even worse, they are horrible. Space Weather experts are calling this the Solstice Storm of 2015. A series of Coronal Mass Ejections (CME) have hit the Earth’s magnetic field producing a severe G4 class geomagnetic storm.

While this is good for those that like to watch the “Northern Lights” it’s terrible for radio propagation.  Just today a CME is expected and a G2 class geomagnetic storm is in progress.

Several times in the last few days, I have “spun the dial” on my K3 only to hear little or no signals. This is really an unusual event.  Currently, the solar wind is 571.6 km a second which is very high. While the solar flux index is 110, the A-index is 17 and the K-index is 5. It looks like a good day to spend outdoors away from the radio.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. Warren says:

    Sounds like a plan, Paul. In the meantime I’d suggest burning some incense, waving some chicken feathers and saying an incantation or two in hopes that conditions improve over Field Day . . . : )

  2. n6pse says:

    Hi Warren, Very hot and dry here in California. I will reserve my hopes for a nice wet winter. If the sun blows up in the mean time, oh well,

    Best wishes,

    Paul N6PSE

  3. w9rpm says:

    Great for 6 meters though.

  4. Roger AC6BW says:

    I’ve seen the A index as high as 77 in the last few days! I’m in a similar situation. I have some rotator problems, and an antenna that is stuck at north. But at least I was able to work into EU and Middle East before the solar storms hit 🙂 Yes, 6 meters has been very active. Lots of interesting spots on the Cluster.

Leave a Reply

