Kosovo-Rethinking my position on proposed DXCC changes.

Posted: November 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

Kosovo7

The World is changing. My mind is changing.

Last year, I blogged about my views on Kosovo. I am one of few American amateurs that have visited Kosovo. What I saw there heavily influenced my views. Kosovo seems more like a medium sized city than a real country.

Unemployment is very high and almost all infrastructure in Kosovo is provided by the United Nations (UN). It is evident to me that if the UN pulled out of Kosovo, Kosovo itself would collapse. Kosovo does not seem prepared to support or protect itself. At the time, I felt that the ARRL DXCC program should not be creating countries but should continue to defer to the UN for that. Unfortunately, the UN is inept in many ways.

The UN Security Council includes membership and voting rights by Russia and China. Russia and China are both changing. Russia is threatening Ukraine and has taken Crimea. Russia now has “Bear” bombers flying off the California coast. China is hacking the US and putting critical counterfeit parts into our military technology.

Their level of friendship and objectivity is in doubt. They are not being the best citizens on the world stage. What has been proposed is that the ARRL consider adopting the US Department of State list of Independent States and Dependencies. Kosovo is on the list of Independent States. If adopted, Kosovo will become a new DXCC entity. While I still feel that the ARRL should not be creating new countries on their own,

I now feel that the US Department of State list of Independence States and Dependencies is a more fair, balanced and objective list of which to consider. Russia and China both have “breakaway issues” in their own countries and are not likely to support UN Admission for Kosovo. Whether Kosovo becomes a new DXCC entity or not is up to the ARRL and which list the ARRL wishes to adopt for the DXCC program.

After a lot of thought, my views have changed and I think the ARRL ought to adopt the proposed changes.

What do you think?

Comments
  1. Robert WD8NVN says:

    I think the ARRL should add Kosovo (Z60) to their DXCC list. Consider the prefix 4U, United Nations inside New York City, USA; consider all these prefixes in Italy alone: 1A0, S.M.O.M.; HV0, Vatican; T77, San Marino. And how about Andorra C3 and Monaco, 3A ?? I am no expert in DXCC rules or United Nations protocols, but if the ARRL needs to make an exception for Kosovo, I am all for it..

  2. n6pse says:

    Normally, the ITU assigns the prefix once UN Admission as a member state takes place. That may not happen for Kosovo for a long time, but they seem to be using Z60 without any trouble. I think the ARRL should consider the US State Department list as it is more fairly composed and maintained and is not subject to the blocking maneuvers that imperil a UN Security Council vote.

Leave a Reply

