Having fun with Remotes……

Posted: September 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

When I bought my home in San Jose in 1986. I was a new ham active on VHF and was not an HF guy.

Since 1992, I have been a serious DXer however I have had to deal with living at the base of 4.216 ft. Mount Hamilton which is directly to the East of me.

My path from 20 degrees to 130 degrees has me beaming directly into the mountain. I rarely have morning propagation to the East.

Over the years, I have been able to build a formidable station, however I have not been able to “move the mountain”.

For the last several years, I have been looking for property so that I can build my own remote station. My wife does not share my dream of moving to a quiet hill in the country.

When RemoteHamRadio came out, I salivated at the possibilities, but I could not justify the expense. When they recently rolled out their WebDX offering, I tried it out. I’m hooked!

I’m now able to work DX to my East with the same ease that my friends a few miles of me can. It’s as if I was invited to visit a nice contest station and operate from there anytime I want.

Some guys will say that this is “cheating”. Who am I cheating?  I don’t care about awards, contests or Honor Roll. I would rather activate P5 than work P5.

You can check with the ARRL, I barely have 100 entities confirmed with them. I’ve never sought WAS/WAZ. I know what I have worked and I know that I am having more fun than ever. WebDX has made the hobby that much more fun for me and I’m having a blast!

Comments
  1. Bill Levy N2WL says:

    You and I are brothers. 300 worked. No paper to prove it. Lotta nice QSLs!

    • n6pse says:

      Bill, I’ve spent hundreds of dollars chasing QSL cards. LOTW has been a huge improvement. I can’t imagine chasing counties, grid squares or IOTA however I know many guys who enjoy doing that but it’s not for me.

  2. Thuy says:

    Suppose you’re in P5. The NA opening on one band is marginal.
    Occasionally you hear one caller and complete the QSO with difficulty.
    You operate 1-2 hours, finishing with a few dozen NA. Back home,
    someone gives you a recording and it’s obvious that you worked only
    one unique station. Turns out to be an enormous WebDX station in W6.
    Would this make you more happy or less happy about going to all of the
    effort to activate P5?

    • n6pse says:

      Thuy, I normally concern myself most with getting their call correct in my log. I don’t concern myself with where they are calling me from. I would be very happy activating any rare entity and the least of my concerns is who is using a remote.

  3. John says:

    Using a remote is cheating, plain and simple. Of course today we love shades of grey, so that we can justify any action we take. Any QSO made using a remote is pretty much the same thing as picking up the phone and calling the guy.

  4. Russ Guidry says:

    I am totally supportive of remote control for my or others stations. I am 90% remote control of a small site in Big Bear Lakes on a small lot but it keeps me in the hunt. Even contest are possible.
    I’ll be on site or remote when Paul is on P5.

Leave a Reply

